24 January 2018

CYANNA MERCURY – Archetypes 2016 (LP Self Released)

What an incredible astonishing debut album is this? Less than 3 years as a band, this Athenian Quintet managed to surprise the whole Underground PSYCH scene, but not only! “Archetypes” shows a great musicianship, with well worked and structured songs, impregnated with proper doses of toxic Cyanamide Acid, flirting with Progressive, Folk, Psychedelia, Dark Wave, even Traditional Greek Music, acting like a ‘ritual’ while their influences are so many and different from one track to another! From the Door-ish Post-Dark-Neo-Psych “Horse Dark As Night” and the Sabbathic proggy atmosphere of a Barrett body trapped in ancient Greece “The Lunatic”, to the dark gothic spirit of Nick Cave “Ode To The Absent Father” / “There Will Be A Time” and the Groovy Sharp funkiness of “Snake”. From the Greek vastness of “Nothing We Can Do” to the stand out track the garage-o-delic “Lilith”. THIS IS A Landmark album for the future generation!!! (TLM)



Label: Not On Label (Self-released) 

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album Gatefold Sleeve

Format: CD, Album, Limited Edition, Special Edition, Gatefold Digipack CD

Format: CD, Album 

Released: November 21, 2016




A1 Horse Dark As Night 4:45
A2 Hermes 0:57
A3 The Lunatic 5:13
A4 Apollo 1:32
A5 Ode To The Absent Father 4:45
A6 Lilith 3:21
B1 If We Were Blind 5:44
B2 Nothing We Can Do 6:33
B3 Snake 3:10
B4 There Will Be A Time 4:52



Audio Sample:

Listen to the songs “Horse Dark As Night” and “Hermes” from Cyanna Mercury’s “Archetypes” (the songs are included on TMZ#10 CD compilation)



Buy the album directly from the Band (via their Bandcamp page):


Check another track from their Album, the stand-out Garage-O-Delic “Lilith”



Leave a Reply