25 January 2018

JACK ELLISTER – Roots Conference 2017 (LP Fruits de Mer Records)

This is a new album by Jack, released as part of Friends of the Fish Series (Vol.15) through FdM Records. After his previous tremendous LP “Tune Up Your Ministers…” which we voted as BEST ALBUM of 2015, Jack comes with an album full of covers by some of his all-time favorite songs. The list of the covered names is really subversive! From the Beatles, the Stones, Bowie and Pink Floyd to Jackson C. Frank, Open Mind, Dizzy Gillespie, Mark Fry, Steve Vai and The Fool! Even more subversive and surprising are Jack’s sophisticated reinterpretations that are taking the songs into another lever, highly artistic, fully inspirational, making this LP proudly stand next to Bowie’s “Pin Ups” or Cave’s “Kicking Against The Pricks”. Besides that, you’ll hear the Best “Matilda Mother” version since the original! Jack’s definitely Got It! Discover! (TLM)



Label: Fruits de Mer Records ‎– Friends of the Fish 15

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Stereo, purple vinyl, limited to 300 copies

Released: 20 Jan 2017




A1 Yellow Roads (Written By – Jackson C. Frank)  2:23
A2 Dear Prudence (Written By – John Lennon, Paul McCartney) 3:20
A3 Citadel (Written By – Keith Richards, Mick Jagger)  3:31
A4 Matilda Mother (Written By – Syd Barrett)  6:20
A5 Sisters (Written By – Steve Vai)  1:22
B1 Drive In Saturday (Written By – David Bowie)  4:23
B2 Magic Potion (Written-By – The Open Mind)  2:22
B3 Con Alma (Written By – Dizzy Gillespie)  2:42
B4 Song For Wilde (Written By – Mark Fry)  2:29
B5 Flying (Written By – The Fool)  4:25


Check Samples from the Album:


Check “Matilda Mother”:


Visit Jack Ellister’s Facebook Page (he may have a few LPs left)


Leave a Reply