13 December 2018

EX CANIX – Primi 2018 (LP/CD Bauta Records)


This is another lovely surprise coming from Sweden! Ex Canix first got together in early 2015 but the band has a history of playing together in different constellations since the mid 70s! The members are: Tjabbe Anstérus (Percussion), Boch (Bass, electronics, cello and guitar), Lars Hoffsten (Drums and percussion) and Håkke Müller (Electronics, keyboard and bass). Special guest: Shadow (Saxophone). The band states: “All tracks start out as improvisations. When we “get there” we rest in it. We travel from Stone Age to Outer Space and back as a community. The best bits we save, add to, cut up, trim, paste, mix and mash. All tracks were recorded at Skylten, Linköping, Sweden, between November 2015 and August 2016”“Primi” consists of just 7 compositions; it starts with “Can You Take Me To Tay Umago”, with a strong attitude to play experimental music, under a psychic and rather avant-garde environment that slowly becoming an improvisational trippy tune! The saxophone adds a jazz complexion to the already experimental soundscape on “Feed The Monster” emerging a free improvised and kind of spacey atmos! “Slow For You” is unfolding an ambient-like background with various sound effects and a real dark atmosphere. “Out There” is acting like a psychic experimental interlude from out of this world! Side ‘B’ opens with “Minetta”, tribal drumming, free impro jazz with a pinch of kraut elements, an avant-garde scenery becoming adventurously trippy! “Dreamland” is dark and kind of scary that surely can dress ideally your nightmares with music! The last track “In The Can” is my personal favorite of the album, it is built under a steady drum beat & rhythm creating an extraordinary psychic free improvised musical atmos!So, “Primi” is a very difficult album recommended for open-minded people. Are you one? (TimeLord Michalis)  



Label: Bauta Records

Format: LP, Vinyl Album, Limited Edition, 300 copies

Format: CD, Album, Limited Edition

Release Date: 15 March 2018



A1 Can You Take Me To Tay Umago 4:54
A2 Feed The Monster 5:22
A3 Slow For You 6:55
A4 Out There 2:36
B1 Minetta 4:48
B2 Dreamland 10:25
B3 In The Can 4:27



Listen/Buy the Album through Ex Canix’s Bandcamp:


Visit Band’s Facebook:




Leave a Reply