14 March 2019

SUN DIAL – Return Journey 2019 (LP Reissue Sulatron Records)



Sun Dial is the vehicle of guitarist and singer Gary Ramon, who started recording in the 80s as The Modern Art. He changed the name to Sun Dial when forming his live band. Since their first album release “Other Way Out” in 1990 till 2018’s “Science Fiction” the band released numeral albums, singles, CDs, CDrs establishing Sun Dial as a true force of the Neo-Psychedelic scene, hailing from the UK, spreading out to Europe and conquering the rest of the World! “Return Journey” is NOT a new album. It was firstly released back in 1993.

The press release reads: In February 1991, armed with a recently recruited full band, Gary Ramon began the follow up sessions to “Other Way Out”. There were a number of raw, heavier sounding tracks but they were still in keeping with the philosophy of the first album. Sun Dial signed to a new label who wanted a bigger, cleaner production so these songs were unfortunately put on ice. However a limited vinyl release, “Return Journey” was put out in 1993 on Gary’s newly formed label ‘Acme’, becoming a firm favorite of the fans. In later years some tracks have resurfaced on EPs and compilations and become essential live standards but for the first time since 1993, ‘Sulatron’ are reissuing the original “Return Journey” on 180 grams clear vinyl including original artwork by the legendary ‘Savage Pencil’, beautifully packaged and stunningly mastered with the original mixes. Limited to 500 copies!”…

“Return Journey” consists of 4 songs on side A and 3 on B. It kicks off with an electric guitar based raw psych version of The Open Mind’s “Magic Potion” (originally from 1969), a psychedelically distorted version! “North Eastern” is a heavy improvised psych-a-like instro with a kind of an experimental raw feel. “Fireball” has heavy n’ fuzzy guitars and buried vocals, with one eye blinking to The Stooges and the other eye to the Attack! The first side closes with the cool dirty psych-rock “Through You”, heavy guitar based with lots of late 60s influences. The acoustic instrumental “U.V.” opens side B under a rather psychic environment. The following tune could be an alternative mutant version of Astronomy Domine. In other words “Sunstroke/Mind Train” is based and built upon Astronomy Domine’s glorious distinctive super extra psychedelic & mind blowing guitar riff! This is early 90s British Psychedelia inspired by the Masters Pink Floyd (Syd era of course!!!) Eventually the album closes with the electric psych ballad “Slow Motion”, once more we have vocals from the ‘grave’ and a feeling of nostalgia… So, in case you missed it back then, do yourself a favor and grab it immediately… the sound resounds… around the icy waters underground… (TimeLord Michalis)



Label: Sulatron Records

Format: LP, Album, Limited Edition, 180 Gramm, Klares Vinyl

Release Date: 18 Apr 2019



A1 Magic Potion 5:57
A2 North Eastern 4:23
A3 Fireball 6:38
A4 Through You 4:56
B1 U.V. 2:49
B2 Sunstroke / Mind Train 13:23
B3 Slow Motion 5:57


Sun Dial’s Facebook:

Leave a Reply