05 April 2021

KUNGENS MAN – Den Nya Skivan (2021, LP Cardinal Fuzz/Adansonia Records/Kungens Ljud & Bild)




Label: Cardinal Fuzz/Adansonia Records/Kungens Ljud & Bild

Format: LP, Album, Limited Edition, Black Heavyweight Vinyl (Includes DL-code), 250 copies (as a stand-alone release), also included in the box set “Innanför Boxen”)

Release Date: 8 Feb 2021

Kungens Män is a Psychedelic space-rock band from Stockholm, Sweden, active since 2012. They have numerous releases so far, most of them self-released but also their music has been released through Underground labels such as Adansonia Records, Riot Season, Eggs In Aspic, Kungens Ljud & Bild… Their Bandcamp says: “Kungens Män are rooted in the psychedelic/drone rock tradition of bands such as Träd, Gräs & Stenar, but also add influences from krautrock, shoegaze, noise-rock and free jazz”… The band consists of Hans Hjelm (guitar), Mattias Indy Pettersson (drums), Mikael Tuominen (six-string bass, guitar, percussion & vocals), Magnus Öhrn (bass), Peter Erikson (synth), and Gustav Nygren (guitar). Three labels, Cardinal Fuzz, Adansonia Records, and Kungens Ljud & Bild worked together for the release of “Den Nya Skivan” (the LP is also part of the 5 LP Box Set “Innanför Boxen”). The album consists of 4 long tracks, 2 on each side of the vinyl and it kicks off with “Basfällan”, the track is built upon a heady hypnotically rhythmic steady beat, dressed with a trippy electric guitar sound, becoming dangerously heavy towards its end. “Andra Hjälpen” starts in an eerie and kind of creepy way emerging a dark bucolic feel, the guitar slowly builds an isolated cold trippy, and enigmatic experimental soundscape while for the last three minutes the guitar takes the lead trying to transport the listener out of the darkness that he’s been trapped to… “Uppskjutet Uppskjutet” acts like a psych-impro jam, electronically flavored, the band develops a trippy-psych scenery, spacey effected with an addictive haunted-like repeated key-melody, capable enough to send you into another dimension, a mind-bending tune indeed! “Hamra Med Slutna Ögon” is another guitar-based jam, moving into a trippy improvisational scale and driving through a heavy incandescent way… Four instrumental compositions that will keep your mind quite busy… Step inside and let it happen… TimeLord Michalis



A1 Basfällan 13:08
A2 Andra Hjälpen 9:49
B1 Uppskjutet Uppskjutet 12:27
B2 Hamra Med Slutna Ögon 10:49



Listen / Buy through KUNGENS MAN Bandcamp


Visit KUNGENS MAN Facebook





Leave a Reply