06 October 2023

THE LUCK OF EDEN HALL- An Introduction To The Luck Of Eden Hall (2023, CD Fruits de Mer Records)




Label: Fruits de Mer Records

Format: CD, Album, Limited Edition

Release Date: Late Oct 2023

Fruits de Mer Records has launched a series of retrospectives, featuring artists who have supported the label consistently over the years. The first CD was released in March (2023) and it was by US AND THEM “An Introduction To Us And Them” (check our review here). As for the 2nd Band/Release, Keith (of FdM Records) picked the departed The Luck Of Eden Hall (they broke up a while ago), and here’s Keith explaining the situation:

“This second release in the series focuses on The Luck of Eden Hall, who have graced the grooves of FdM for about a dozen years, led by Curvey Gregory. The CD selects tracks from their various FdM releases and ends with a couple of tracks that are exclusive to this compilation.
Curvey explains the history of the band… “The Luck of Eden Hall formed in 1988 as a three-piece band. At the time we were into psychedelic revival bands like The Church, Rain Parade, and Dream Syndicate. We released our first album, Corner Of The Sky (1989), on our own; the 200 cassettes sold out. We then signed to Limited Potential Records and released a single to rave reviews, but the loss of our original drummer threw the band into chaos, and the full-length album recorded for Limited was never released, and the tapes were burned. At least I hope they were burned. We got our first international press when our second full-length album, Belladonna Marmalade (1994), appeared in Ptolemaic Terrascope, and the band made a few small tours of the midwestern United States. We played with The Lemonheads, Material Issue, and Michael Peters of The Alarm, then took a break. We decided to start up again with the release of Subterrene (2002), and When The Clock Starts To Wake Up We Go To Sleep (2006). Around that time we were asked to create a track for the Fruits de Mer Records release ‘A Phase We’re Going Through’ (2010), starting up the wonderfully fruitful relationship represented on this compilation. One small opportunity can open so many doors, and I will be forever thankful to Fruits de Mer.”
LOEH broke up a while ago – Mark Lofgren has released a few albums solo as well as with his band The Thin Cherries; Curvey has scored films, released four LPs with his band Custard Flux, and has appeared as a guest on albums by bands including Sendelica, Astral Magic, Anton Barbeau, and The Honey Pot. The original band are no more, but this CD looks back at some great music – originals and covers – from a fine band”…

So, this “Introduction To The Luck Of Eden Hall”, contains every cover track TLoEH recorded for the label over a 15-year period! it’s not only an introduction to the band. Believe it or not, this CD compilation acts like a superb “Very Best Of”, it contains some of the best and most inspiring cover versions that TLoFH made in its entire career! Pink Floyd, The Doors, The Pretty Things, Love, The Count Five, The Association, The Monkees, and many more… Also the original TLoEH songs included here are surely some of the most beautiful and well-crafted tracks from the band’s entire back catalog… Also, there are a couple of unreleased songs, “Stop Stop Stop” (by The Hollies) and “China Girl” (David Bowie) recorded with members of Sendelica live in MWNCI Studios in Wales… So, go grab this album, and enter/discover the magical world of The Luck Of Eden Hall, the gate is wide open, the quality is guaranteed, go fill yourself with beauty and pleasure… (And of course, you’re advised to go check ALL previous The Luck Of Eden Hall releases… TimeLord Michalis



1 Love Is Only Sleeping (The Monkees) 3:14
2 Lucifer Sam (Pink Floyd) 3:07
3 She Comes In Colours (Love) 2:47
4 Never My Love (The Association) 3:33
5 The Ottoman Girl (The Luck Of Eden Hall) 2:28
6 Something In The Air (Thunderclap Newman) 3:42
7 SF Sorrow Is Born (The Pretty Things) 3:23
8 The Crystal Ship (The Doors) 2:47
9 Black Sheep (S.R.C.) 4:11
10 Bangalore (The Luck Of Eden Hall) 3:05
11 This Is Strange (The Luck Of Eden Hall) 3:38
12 A Drop In The Ocean (The Luck Of Eden Hall) 5:31
13 Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me And My Monkey (The Beatles) 2:31
14 Psychotic Reaction (Count Five) 3:16
15 Starship Trooper (Yes) 18:48
16 Reflected (Alice Cooper) 3:32
17 Stop Stop Stop (The Hollies) 3:22
18 China Girl (David Bowie) 5:43



Get it  through THE LUCK OF EDEN HALL Bandcamp (Only these copies available here on Bandcamp will include a reusable plastic bag and a 2” x 4” sticker)

Get it through FRUITS DE MER RECORDS Web

Alternatively, grab it via SHINY BEAST Mailorder













Leave a Reply