10 September 2018

CUSTARD FLUX – Helium 2018 (Deluxe Box Set 2CD Digital Self-Released)



All you TimeMaZine readers, I bet that by now, after so many reviews, the name of Gregory Curvey and The Luck Of Eden Hall, for sure is quite familiar. Right? Greg is the driving and creative force behind The Luck Of Eden Hall for the last 30 years! One of Chicago’s finest acts with numerous releases! Of course, Greg kept busy himself by traveling to the other side of the ocean, at times, to visit his beloved Wales, where he occasionally jammed with extra-terrestrial proggers, locals Sendelica. Anyway… Let’s see what this “restless spirit” did this time. The last 2 years he moved from Chicago and relocated permanently to Detroit city. So, it was just a matter of time for the new kid in town to find a few guys and form a new band! And all of a sudden, Custard Flux was born! Curvey, motivated by a very old Harmonium, he explains: “This project was born out of a vision I had after acquiring a 100-year-old Harmonium, and the ability to be able to set up in the park and play progressive psychedelic pop without any electricity. Newly located in Detroit, I’ve set out to find a group of like-minded musicians, including a Double Bassist, Drummer, Keyboardist, and Guitarist. It’s taken some time, but the spark has been lit, and I’m pleased with the music”.

The original title of the “Helium” album was supposed to be “Harmonium Chrysanthemum” but Greg decided to change it (I do prefer Harmonium Chrysanthemum, Greg!) Acoustic guitars, basses, drums, percussions, the old harmonium and flutes create an artistic acoustic retro sounding concept of 64 minutes that consists of 12 songs and the plan is to collect the money from the downloads in order to produce LPs and CDs in the near future! Album takes off with “The Hit Parade”, a kind of renaissance tune with Curvey’s voice bringing naturally to mind The Luck Of Eden Hall. “Forevermore” is an electric melancholic but promising ballad that Greg is using his Gibson Flying V through an Echoplex! The second and last time that Greg is somehow using “electricity” (the same Gibson with a Pig Nose Solo) is on “The Shire” Of Gingin”, an adventurous instrumental with a pinch of experimentalism that generously flirts with Progressive! That 100 old Harmonium gives an intense Renaissance lovely feeling through all over “Innermission”, such a great track! “Sleepy” could be an outtake from “Ogdens’” while “La Mort” is another essential proggy –a la folk instrumental. On “Out Of Phase” is like Hawkwind decided to go acoustic! The melody overflows on “Golden Opportunity” tripping us to the art-rock bands of the early 70s! “Tiger” is a smooth n’ soft ballad while the instrumental version of this is called “Tiger Reprise”. The album closes with a colossal synergy of the planets, the psychedelically pompous and mind-bending “Helium”! Custard Flux has the power to liquefy your emotions and spray your whole existence with the headiest intoxicating aroma you could ever desire!

Gregory Curvey produced a deluxe version of Helium! A hinged wooden box, with a latch, laser etched in Curvey’s own laboratory, and packed with goodies, including: the Helium CD, edited as an album listening experience, housed in a cardboard sleeve; a bonus* CD with 5 new songs (Including: Sweetened Hallowed, The Feline Hallucination, Innermission, Ascending Stories, Satellite Of Love); a set of 4 cards baring Gregory Chamberlin’s beautiful artwork; and a 16 page lyric booklet. It’s very limited to 100 numbered boxes. Autographed by Curvey at your request. (Both high-quality CDs are manufactured at Diskfaktory). Try your luck here: https://custardflux.bandcamp.com/releases

*Bonus CD:

From the very first note of “Sweetened Hallowed”, a feast of sounds mercilessly smack you in your face but firstly, because a few moments later this wall-of-sound is directed straight inside your brain with an intense rhythm provided by a semi-acoustic guitar storming! This 100-year-old Harmonium is coming up front and its glorious appearance in “The Feline Hallucination” is acute and colorful producing some lovely renaissance sounds. “Innermission” is pure instrumental bewitchment with the power to mind-transport you way beyond the rabbit hole, Alice is waiting there to lead you… “Ascending Stories” it’s simply a modern art-rock artifact while for the last song, Greg is surprisingly re-executes Lou Reed’s “Satellite Of Love” from his 1972’s “Transformer” album, a wonderful, earthly and respected version indeed!  (TimeLord Michalis) 



Label: Self Released

Format: 2CD, Album, Limited, Deluxe Box Set, 100 copies each come in a hinged wooden box

Release Date: 01 June 2018 (Digital)

Release Date: 10 September 2018 (Deluxe Box Set)


Tracklist Helium CD
01 The Hit Parade 4:31
02 Forevermore 5:30
03 Empyrean House 3:54
04 Tiger 4:41
05 The Shire Of Gingin 6:19
06  Innermission 6:54
07 Sleepy 5:21
08 La Mort 5:40
09 Out Of Phase 5:01
10 Golden Opportunity 6:11
11 Tiger Reprise 4:46
12 Helium 5:58


Tracklist Bonus CD
01 Sweetened Hallowed 04:11
02 The Feline Hallucination 03:42
03 Innermission 04:38
04 Ascending Stories 03:47
05 Satellite Of Love 04:29



Listen & Buy the album through their Bandcamp page:





1 Response

  1. Pingback : TimeMachine Productions » CUSTARD FLUX – Phosphorus (2022, 2LP/CD Self-Released)

Leave a Reply